fleche Partnership with Lower-Saxony vide
HISTORY
trait

History of the partnership

Since a first contact in July 2002 in Hanover and Goslar, the museums of Lower Saxony and Upper Normandy have been involved in cooperative exchanges via their respective associations: the Museums Verband Niedersachsen und Bremen (association of the museums of Lower Saxony and Bremen) and the Upper Normandy branch of the General Association of Curators of French Public Collections.
On December 2 and 3, 2002, a first German delegation brought five Lower Saxon curators to visit twenty museums in Upper Normandy, in the presence of Mr. Hans-Walter Keweloh, president of the Museums Verband, and his secretary Hans Lochmann. In return, from March 16 to 19, 2003, a Norman delegation of 5 curators visited the north-west of Lower Saxony (around Oldenburg, East Friesland, Bremen and Bremerhaven).
As a result of these two delegations, a first exchange was organised in May 2003, on the occasion of the European Museums’ Spring Festival.

picture

Philosophy of the partnership

The cooperation project between the museums of Lower Saxony and Upper Normandy focuses on a number of areas:

1. The first is theme-related:
The museums of our two regions have a number of common themes, five of which are particularly prominent.
. Fine Arts,
. Archaeology,
. Natural History and Science (museums of the history of medecine and obstetrics),
. Ethnology, grouping the following heritage domains: maritime, industrial (textile), technical (e.g. collection related to the firefighting profession), scientific and rural (ecomuseums),
. Literary museums.

2. The second concerns the means of cooperation:
. Loan exchanges, common exhibitions:
The museums will exchange works for temporary exhibitions, or develop projects for common exhibitions.
. Exchanges of personnel from various fields (visitors’ service, conservation, museography, control of works, restoration, etc.). Skills exchanges could be organised with regard to pilot activities in each region, such as the computerization of maritime museums, or the documentation system in Lower Saxon ecomuseums (the ecomuseum of Kiekeberg, near Hamburg, has apparently developed an efficient system).
. Virtual exhibitions: thanks to the creation of the website of the Curators’ Association of Upper Normandy, virtual exhibitions can be organised on common projects.

3. Regular annual meetings:
Biennial meetings will be scheduled to keep the exchange going. By visiting each others’ museums and meeting each others’ teams, the museum curators from Lower Saxony and Upper Normandy will be able to reap the full benefits of this cooperative project from the outset.

Pierre Ickowicz, Chief Curator, Dieppe Castle Museum.

vide

fleche Partenariat avec la Basse-Saxe vide
HISTORIQUE
trait

Historique du partenariat

Depuis le mois de juillet 2002, à l’occasion d’un premier contact à Hanovre et Goslar, les musées de Basse-Saxe et de Haute-Normandie ont entrepris des échanges de coopération à travers leurs associations respectives : le Museums Verband Niedersachsen und Bremen (association des musées de Basse-Saxe et de Brême) et la section fédérée Haute-Normandie de l’Association générale des conservateurs des collections publiques de France.
Une première délégation allemande a emmené cinq conservateurs bas-saxons visiter les 2 et 3 décembre 2002 une vingtaine de musées de Haute-Normandie, en présence de M. Hans-Walter Keweloh, président du Museums Verband, et d’Hans Lochmann son secrétaire. En retour, la délégation normande de 5 conservateurs s’est rendu du 16 au 19 mars 2003 dans le nord-ouest de la Basse-Saxe (autour d’Oldenbourg, en Frise orientale, et à Brême et Bremerhaven).
À la suite de ces deux premières délégations, un premier échange à pu voir le jour à l’occasion du Printemps européen des musées, en mai 2003.

visuel

Philosophie générale du partenariat

La coopération envisagée entre musées de Basse-Saxe et de Haute-Normandie propose différents axes :

1. Le premier axe est disciplinaire :
En effet, de nombreux thèmes communs sont couverts par les musées de nos deux régions, dont cinq se dégagent particulièrement.
. Les Beaux-Arts,
. L’Archéologie,
. L’Histoire naturelle, et les sciences (Musées d’histoire de la médecine ou obstétrique),
. L’Ethnologie regroupant notamment les patrimoines maritime, industriel (textile), technique (ex : collection liée à l’activité des sapeurs-pompiers), scientifique et rural (écomusées),
. Les musées littéraires.

2. Le deuxième axe porte sur les modes de coopération envisagés :
. Les échanges de prêts et d’expositions communes : Les musées pourront échanger des œuvres à l’occasion d’expositions temporaires, ou développer des projets d’expositions communes.
. Les échanges de personnels, notamment dans des domaines divers (services des publics, conservation, muséographie, régie des œuvres, restauration, etc.). Des domaines pilotes dans chacune des régions tels que l’informatisation des musées maritimes, le système de documentation des écomusées en Basse Saxe pourraient aussi faire l’objet d’échanges de savoir-faire (l’écomusée de Kiekeberg, près de Hambourg aurait développé un système performant).
. Expositions virtuelles : À la faveur de la création du site Internet de la Section fédérée Haute-Normandie des Conservateurs, des expositions virtuelles pourront être organisées sur le site sur des thématiques élaborées ensemble.

3. Des rencontres régulières annuelles :
Afin de pérenniser la relation, un rythme de rencontres bisannuelles est retenu. Il permettra aux conservateurs des musées de Basse-Saxe et de Haute-Normandie de mieux connaître les potentiels de cette coopération dès les premières années de cette relation, en visitant les établissements et en rencontrant les équipes qui les font vivre.

Pierre Ickowicz, Conservateur en chef du Château-Musée de Dieppe.

vide