Petit salon
Petit salon

Statute

City museum


Collections

Archaeology

Decorative arts

Ceramics

Ethnology

History


Curator/Manager

Alban Duparc

Address

Château d’Eu
Place d’Orléans
76260 Eu

Telephone

02 35 86 44 00

Fax

02 35 50 33 30

logo musees de France Musée Louis-Philippe -- The Louis-Philippe Museum


The Louis-Philippe Museum was founded in 1973 in the Château d’Eu, which was built in the 16th century by Henri de Guise. The château was subsequently embellished by the "Grande Mademoiselle" (the Duchess of Montpensier), enlarged by Pierre-François-Léonard Fontaine for King Louis-Philippe, and renovated and decorated by Viollet-le-Duc for the Count of Paris. Thanks to the museum, this last French royal residence boasts furniture, porcelain, gold and silver plate, paintings and historical memorabilia relating to the princes of Orléans and the first Entente Cordiale.
The château (listed as a Historic Monument in 1985) was restored to a satisfactory state of repair thanks to a major project undertaken fifteen years ago by the French Historic Monuments agency. Thanks to significant restoration and reconstruction work, several of the museum’s rooms have been renovated, including the Guise Gallery, the various salons, and the portico, decorated with stained-glass windows designed by Viollet-le-Duc and crafted by Oudinot (1879-1880).

lien Ecouter
lien Print the whole of visitor's information